Film Skills Fund contributor The Favourite wins ten BIFAs

This year’s British Independent Film Awards were dominated by productions that paid into ScreenSkills’ Film Skills Fund to support training in the industry.

BIFA 2018 / Holly Clark (Olivia Coleman accepting the Best Supporting Actress Award on behalf of Rachel Weisz for The Favourite)

Seven productions that contributed to the fund were honoured at the ceremony in London on 2 December.

They included The Favourite, starring Olivia Colman, which won a record total of 10 awards. American Animals, Ray & Liz and You Were Never Really Here received two awards, and Beast, Early Man and Evelyn all scooped one. 

This year BIFA voters participated in a bespoke unconscious bias training session. The programme was commissioned by ScreenSkills and BIFA to make the voting process as fair, inclusive and diligent as possible.

We are delighted that so many productions that have paid into the Film Skills Fund, which supports skills and training in UK film, have been recognised. Congratulations to all seven winning productions:

  • Best British film - The Favourite (Yorgos Lanthimos, Deborah Davis, Tony McNamara, Ceci Dempsey, Ed Guiney and Lee Magiday)
  • Best screenplay - The Favourite (Deborah Davis and Tony McNamara
  • Best director- The Favourite (Yorgos Lanthimos)
  • Best actress- The Favourite (Olivia Colman)
  • Best supporting actress - The Favourite (Rachel Weisz)
  • Most promising newcomer: Beast (Jessie Buckley)
  • The Douglas Hickox award (debut director) – Ray & Liz (Richard Billingham)
  • Best screenwriter: American Animals (Bart Layton)
  • Best documentary: Evelyn (Orlando Von Einsiedel and Joanna Natasegara)
  • Best breakthrough producer: Ray & Liz (Jacqui Davies)
  • Best casting: - The Favourite (Dixie Chassay)
  • Best cinematography - The Favourite (Robbie Ryan)
  • Best costume design - The Favourite (Sandy Powell)
  • Best editing: American Animals (Nick Fenton, Julian Hart and Chris Gill)
  • Best hair and make-up - The Favourite (Nadia Stacey)
  • Best music: You Were Never Really Here (Jonny Greenwood)
  • Best production design - The Favourite (Fiona Crombie)
  • Best sound: You Were Never Really Here (Paul Davies)
  • Best effects: Early Man (Howard Jones)

Back to news