Derry Girls creator wins ScreenSkills prize at WFTV Awards

Lisa McGee, creator and writer of the Channel 4 series Derry Girls, won the ScreenSkills writing prize at the annual Women in Film and TV (WFTV) Awards.

The comedy, starring Nicola Coughlan and Saoirse-Monica Jackson, is a contributor to the ScreenSkills High-end TV Skills Fund, which sponsored the award and supports training in the industry. The award was presented by John Lloyd.

The WFTV Awards - which celebrate the talented women that work in UK film, TV and digital media - were presented in London on 6 December. The ceremony, hosted by Sandi Toksvig, recognised women in 14 categories, including writing, directing, producing, business, performance and craft.

Baroness Floella Benjamin was also honoured with a lifetime achievement award.

The full list of winners, including their recent HETV and Film Skills fund contributing projects:

  • The Barclays Business Award - Jane Featherstone – Executive producer for Gangs of London, Giri/Haji, Chernobyl, Don’t Forget The Driver and Cleaning Up
  • The Technicolor Creative Technology Award - Emma Oxley – Editor for The Capture and Good Omens
  • The Craft Award - Judi Lee-Headman – sound mixer for The Capture and Britannia
  • The ENVY Producer Award- Faye Ward – Producer of Stan & Ollie and Wild Rose
  • The EIKON Presenter Award - Claudia Winkleman
  • The IMDb Project Management Award - Jo Burn – Executive Producer and Unit Production Manager on Overlord 
  • The Netflix New Talent Award - Laurie Nunn - Creator of Sex Education
  • The ITV Studios Achievement of the Year Award - Cherylee Houston
  • The Deluxe Director Award - Jessica Hobbs – Director of The Crown and The Split
  • The ScreenSkills Writing Award - Lisa McGee – Creator of Derry Girls
  • The Best Performance Award - Samantha Morton – Star of Harlots
  • The BBC News and Factual Award - Katya Adler
  • The Argonon Contribution to the Medium Award - Dorothy Byrne
  • The EON Productions Lifetime Achievement Award - Floella Benjamin

Back to news